WE STAND TO DENOUNCE RACISM IN ALL ITS FORMS


We stand to denounce racism in all its forms.


We, the undersigned from the cultural sector of the North East, declare that silence is not ok and silence is seen as complicity. Racism has no place in a just and humane society.


Whilst we cannot undo pain and neglect, we are calling on all of us in the arts, cultural, heritage sectors; professional and voluntary to work together to address racism and its deep roots. We must listen, have conversations and most importantly act, we know we need to do better. Everyone is part of the solution - artists, staff, trustees, partners, promoters, audiences and communities.


We want to tackle this together in sharing better understanding and practices. We stand united to bring about change in our thinking and actions as a collective of organisations and individuals.


In the weeks and months to come we will collectively act to build on this statement with concrete steps and actions to demonstrate our commitment to bringing about real change. We ask you to stand with us.


If you would like to join us in these future conversations please contact any of the points of contacts listed below:


Alphabetti Theatre Signee: Ali Pritchard, Artistic/Executive Director Contact: Ali Pritchard, ali@alphabettitheatre.co.uk


The Angelou Centre Signee: Rosie Lewis, Deputy Director & VAWG Services Manager


Anna Robinson Sceneographer Contact: anna.fkrobinson@gmail.com


ARC Stockton Signee: Annabel Turpin Contact: Annabel.Turpin@arconline.co.uk


Arts&Heritage Stephanie Allen, Executive Director Contact: info@artsandheritage.org.uk


Assembly Rooms Theatre Durham Signee: Kate Barton Contact: theatre.manager@durham.ac.uk


BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art Signee: Sarah Munro, Director Contact: Caroline Murphy, carolinem@balticmill.com


Ben Dickenson Contact: benji.dickenson@gmail.com Executive Producer, City of Dreams / Associate Literary Producer Alphabetti


Beverley Prevatt Goldstein Signee: Beverley Prevatt Goldstein Contact: beverleyprevattgoldstein@gmail.com


Brash Signee: Bethan Kitchen, Artistic Director Cpontact: bethan@brash-events.co.uk


Camisado Club Signee: Caroline Liversidge, Camisado Club Contact: info@camisadoclub.co.uk


Centre for Life, Newcastle Signee: Linda Conlon Contact: Louise Richardson, louise.richardson@life.org.uk


Company of Others Signee: Nadia Iftkhar, Artistic Director & CEO Contact: Nadia Iftkhar, nadia@companyofothers.org.uk


Curious Arts Signee: Phil Douglas, Director Contact: Ellie Puckering, ellie@curiousarts.org.uk


Curious Monkey Signee: Amy Golding Contact: amy@curiousmonkeytheatre.com


Creative Seed Contact: Sandy and Garner Harris, Founding Directors


D6 Culture in Transit Clymene Christoforou, Director


Dance City Signee: Phil Douglas Contact: Phil Douglas, phil.douglas@dancecity.co.uk


Degna Stone Poet and editor


Disconsortia Signee: Lisette Auton, Co-founding Member Contact: disconsortia@gmail.com


Ednie Wilson Gateshead


Gateway Studio CIO Signee: Martin Hylton, Artistic Director/CEO Contact: Martin Hylton, martin.hylton@gatewaystudioproject.co.uk


GemArts Signee: Vikas Kumar MBE, Director Contact: Vikas Kumar, vikas@gemarts.org


Gobscure Signee: Sean Burn Contact: gobscure@posteo.net


Gosforth Civic Theatre Contact: info@gosforthcivictheatre.co.uk


Harambee Pasadia CIC Signee: Hannabiell Sanders Contact: Hannabiell Sanders, harambeepasadia@gmail.com


Kitchen Zoo Signee: Bob Nicholson Contact: info.kitchenzoo@gmail.com


Ladies of Midnight Blue Signee: Yilis Suriel Contact: Yilis Suriel, yilissuriel@gmail.com


The Letter Room Signees: Meghan Doyle and Stan Hodgson, Co-Artistic Directors Contact: info@theletterroomtheatre.co.uk


Little Cog Signee: Vici Wreford-Sinnott, Artistic Director Contact: littlecog@rocketmail.com


Live Theatre Signee: Jim Beirne, Chief Executive Contact: joe@live.org.uk


Luxi Signee: Caroline Pearce Contact: cp@luxicreative.co.uk


Melody Sproates Artist/Performer Contact: melodysproates@hotmail.com


Mortal Fools Signee: Kiz Crosbie, Artistic Director/CEO Contact: kiz@mortalfools.org.uk


The NewBridge Project Signee: Rebecca Huggan, Director Contact: r.huggan@thenewbridgeproject.com


New Writing North Claire Malcolm, Chief Executive Contact: Claire Malcolm, office@newwritingnorth.com


Newcastle City Council Arts Team Signee: Cllr Ged Bell (Cabinet Member for Culture) Contact: Jim Mawdsley, Arts and Culture Senior Advisor, Jim.Mawdsley@newcastle.gov.uk


Newcastle Theatre Royal Signee: Philip Bernays, Chief Executive


Newcastle University Signee: Professor Julie Sanders, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Contact: Julie.sanders@ncl.ac.uk


Northern Roots Signee: Adam Collerton, Director Contact: adam@northern-roots.org.uk


Northern Stage Signee: Kate Denby, Executive Director Contact: Mark Calvert, MCalvert@northernstage.co.uk


OGRE Contact: Steven Walker, Creative Director


Open Clasp Signees: Joint Chief Executives Catrina McHugh MBE / Ellie Turner Contacts: catrina@openclasp.org.uk, ellie@openclasp.org.uk


Origin Moko Jumbies Signee: Alan Vaughan Contact: alanpvaughan@gmail.com


Sage Gateshead Signee: Abigail Pogson, Director Contact: Wendy Smith, wendy.smith@sagegateshead.com


Sangini Signee: Padma Rao


Seven Stories Signee: John Coburn Contact: Amanda Beckham, amanda.beckham@sevenstories.org.uk


Skimstone Arts Signee: Claire Webster-Saaramets, Director Contact: Claire Webster-Saaramets, claire@skimstone.org.uk


Slugtown Signees: Max Lee and Matt Antoniak, Co-directors


Summer Streets Festival Signee: Ross Millard Contact: hello@summerstreetsfestival.com


Sunderland Music Hub Signee: Lizzie Nixon Contact: sunderland.music@togetherforchildren.org.uk


Susan Ashley AHRC Researcher Contact: susan.ashley@northumbria.ac.uk


Prometheus Foundation CIC Contact: Dot Owston


Tyneside Cinema Signee: Holli Keeble, Chief Executive Officer Contact: Holli Keeble, Holli.Keeble@tynesidecinema.co.uk


Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums Signee: Iain Watson, Director Contact: Bill Griffiths, bill.griffiths@twmuseums.org.uk


Tyne and Wear Cultural Freelancers Signee: Leila d’Aronville Contact: Leila d’Aronville, Leila.daronville@gmail.com


Unfolding Theatre Signees: Michael Barrass, Alex Elliott, Garry Lydon, Annie Rigby and Luca Rutherford Contact: annie@unfoldingtheatre.co.uk


VAMOS! Signee: Nikolas Barrera Contact: nikolasbarrera@gmail.com


Voices of Virtue Gospel Choir Signees: Mathapelo Imarhiagbe, Chinyere Igun, Glen Smiley


We Make Culture CIC Signee: Laura Brewis, Project Director Contact: laura@wemakeculture.co.uk

0 views

Gosforth Civic Theatre

Regent Farm Road,

Gosforth,

Newcastle upon Tyne,

NE3 3HD

0191 284 3700 

info@gosforthcivictheatre.co.uk

Cafe Opening Hours

Monday - Friday Closed

Saturday Closed

Sunday Closed

Liberdade Community Development Trust registered charity number 1163955

Read our Privacy Policy